Be Like the Squirrel

Standard

14430144831_207e7b4294_k

Loving someone who is passive aggressive (avoids talking about uncomfortable things, and runs if they feel overwhelmed or pressured into standing up for themselves) is really painful at times. It’s hard knowing that my needs are being ignored/taken for granted by someone who doesn’t know how to meet their own. It’s harder to acknowledge and accept that it isn’t their job to fix my inner wounds for me (hell, they’re fixed I just forget to live like it some days).

And the quickie prayer goes like this:

“Thy will My will, My will Thy will” (addressed to the Universe of which I Am; in all of her spiralling wisdom).

It’s hard to remember sometimes that I don’t need to let my hurt or anger run the show, and that when assertive communication fails to meet my needs, I don’t need to swing around to passivity, passive aggressiveness or outright aggressiveness. Patience, and meeting my own emotional needs are all I need right now – I do not need the immediate gratification which I crave, and I do not need someone else’s actions to fix my emotions.

I am whole, and peace resides at the core of my being, I allow myself to live in this moment as the loving, peaceful being I am, and am letting go of my hurt and anger, as they really are choices which I don’t need to make.

 

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

