Branches, Leaves and Fruit Revisited.

Standard

bjornboogaloo

Imagine a container the size of your heart. This container is the sole source of all thoughts. Whenever you think something, you must go to this container, select a thought, and send it out into the world. Using this metaphor, the real issue isn’t about simply selecting positive, loving thoughts and having your world shift back into balance. The real issue is what’s in the container–that is, what’s in the heart reservoir you have inside of you to give to others. This container within is connected to an endless supply of love; you need only turn your thoughts to that Source to be filled with love: love for yourself, love for the world, love for life, love for all others, and most significantly, love for your Source of being. Then this is all that you’ll have available to give away, and consequently, all that returns to you.

Dr. Wayne W. Dyer, “Being in Balance

I am not a religious person, but I am very influenced by spiritual principals from many paths. I do my best to follow the teachings which I’ve been exposed to which have really spoken loudly to my heart.

I suppose some of what I believe has been handed down to me by my Buddhist Father and my Christian Mother, but I’ve also been fortunate enough to be gifted with a mind which filters and discerns all that is presented to it in a fairly objective fashion.

I believe that all paths and beings are equal, and I try very hard to remember this in all of my dealings with the world. I try very hard to walk the Middle Path while at the same time practicing the Baha’i Principals in my day to day life. I do not follow these guidelines religiously, but I do hold my personal actions up to them as a gauge of how close my behavior matches my desired standards.

It’s really quite frustrating for me, as a person who tries very hard to respect other people and their rights to be involved with any sort of political, ethical or spiritual movement as it seems to be quite acceptable to many people to violate other people’s rights in order to “move the cause forward”. I believe that social change comes from within as does spiritual and emotional change. We will never change the world by being mean-spirited, by violating the rights of ANY being, or by placing our own agendas ahead of the agendas of our fellows.

It IS possible for us to work together toward the betterment of humanity without harming one another, without going to war, without squabbling over who is right or who is wrong (as we’re all on one team, we just don’t realize it much of the time). Being right isn’t the solution, growth is.

“Ye are all leaves of one tree and the fruits of one branch.”   Bahá’u’lláh

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

