I Am Therefore I Am?

Standard

111cosmos

Today I got into a good discussion about things like The Existence of  God and, Life After Death . I’m still trying to wrap my head around one of the questions which occurred to me regarding the Life After Death question:

“How do you know there isn’t life before birth? I am not entirely certain where consciousness originates from, but we have it – where does it come from?” (quoting myself here).

So, that’s what it all boils down to for me. I am actively working on becoming a fully conscious human being, and as I tend to question everything I also need to study and research and fully grok the subjects which catch my interest. So, currently I’m obsessed with better understanding consciousness, where it comes from, and where it goes when our physical bodies die (as well as where it came from when our physical bodies began to be). Part of me has a pretty firm and intuitive belief in reincarnation, but my inner philosopher is never satisfied with opinions which are based 100% in intuition.

I’m seeking some  new information. I’m not so much trying to prove or disprove the presence of consciousness/spirit both before and after the death/birth cycle as I am attempting to more fully understand the subject. I adore learning, and some questions are well worth further investigation.

The begining of my interest in understanding consciousness was triggered by Eckhart Tolle‘s The Power Of Now and the following quote:

“I cannot live with myself any longer.” This was the thought that kept repeating itself in my mind. Then suddenly I became aware of what a peculiar thought it was. “Am I one or two?” If I cannot live with myself, there must be two of me: The ‘I’ and the ‘self’ that ‘I’ cannot live with.” “Maybe,” I thought, “only one of them is real.”

Reading the above quote was like a jolt of reality and awakening for me. So now, here I am aware, and awake and seeking to understand fully who ‘I’ am and where ‘I’ originate from. Isn’t it amazing that the Universe has gifted us with these amazing minds, so full of capacity and ability to question and seek out truth?

I do believe it might be time for me to look into sitting in on a philosophy class, and maybe even into attending some of our local philosophy club’s meetings.

And that once again brings me to this:

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

4 responses »

  1. “So now, here I am aware, and awake and seeking to understand fully who ‘I’ am and where ‘I’ originate from.”

    Well, for starters, You’re the Universe. Everything and Nothing. Stars, Moons, Planets. People, Animals, Insects. Laws, Numbers, Values. Language, Sound, Sensation. Science, Religion, Philosophy.

    Your Self—that thing that You call “Me” or “I”—that’s the Origin of Universe. And the Origin of Universe is at every Cartesian coordinate in the Universe.

    Like I wrote, You’re the Universe. So, then, You originate at every spacetime point from within, without, before, after, against, for, space and time. Also known as Eternity.

    ‘I’ have called My Self by many names. Here’s 101 of ’em. But the list of names goes on and on and on, just like ‘Me.’

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/101_Names_of_God

      • 🙂 Being One, I am couleewind. Knowing this give Me great understanding, love, and peace.

      • I have my moments of fully grasping the concept of Oneness, and my moments of just being a crazy random disconnected whack-job. The peaceful moments are beginning to be the more frequent ones. I’m getting there.

Leave a Reply

