The Really Big Salad or, Plants are Effing Amazing!

Standard
Salads should always be bigger than my entire head.

Salads should always be bigger than my entire head.

When the weather gets hot my eating habits tend to wander into the realm of being mainly raw, which for me means, green smoothies, king-sized salads and huge amounts of fresh fruit. I do include cooked, marinaded beans as well as grains and pasta in my salads (also occasional raw seeds, nuts or sprouts) quite regularly and I often eat oatmeal or homemade muesli in the morning, so I would say my hot weather eating habits are about 80% raw. I bulk up my calorie intake on busy days with bananas and dates, because well, they’re calorie dense and high carb (which is a good thing in my world) and yummy as all heck. Also, they make my brain stick this song on auto-repeat, which is always fun:

I’m not a big salad dressing person, but I do occasionally make a marinade or dressing for my salads (the rest of the time I use a squeeze of lemon, or a splash of rice wine or balsamic vinegar). Today’s dressing is a splash of vinegar, tossed in the blender with a handful of sundried tomatoes and some fresh garlic, rather than dressing my salad with this, I marinaded some beans in it and mixed those in.

Todays salad:

  • Organic “super greens” salad green mix
  • Sundried tomato marinaded  6 bean blend
  • Cherry tomato halves
  • Green onion
  • Shredded cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Cucumber and zucchini chunks
  • A big handful of fine cut flat leaf parsley
  • A big handful of sugar snap peas

I just tossed all of this yum into a big bowl and violently attacked it with a fork and my terrifying canine teeth. Those poor defenseless plants still don’t know what hit them. What can I say, I’m a garden’s worth nightmare. I don’t really have any salad rules, I try to throw as many colours and textures into the bowl as I can, and I always try to add a big handful of fresh herbs or bitter greens, but really salads are just a fun, refreshing sort of free-form event for me.

Huge salads are a pretty affordable way to fill your nutritional needs and remind you how amazing it is that plants provide such an incredible variety of food options. People who’ve never incorporated plant-based meals into their lives really are missing out.

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

