My Creamy Dill and Chickpea Half-Pasta Salad (low fat vegan).

Standard
My creamy chickpea half pasta salad.

My creamy chickpea half pasta salad.

I “invented” this great dish which I call “Half-Pasta Salad” a couple of years back, when I started being more aware of what I eat. I call this “Half-Pasta Salad” because it’s quite literally half pasta, and half salad. I used to serve this with a mayo-based dressing, but now that I’m more cautious about the amount of oil/fat I consume I invented this terrific chickpea based creamy dressing. The dressing is really easy to adapt to your own needs and tweaking the herbs etc is a great way to make this a more flexible, appealing dish. I also love this dressing as a sandwich spread, veggie dip etc.

Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup cooked chick peas
  • rice wine vinegar or lemon juice (enough to ensure the chickpeas blend nicely – adjust amounts for taste and texture)
  • a splash of oil if you wish
  • tamari to taste
  • 1 tbsp grainy or dill Dijon
  • 1 clove or more fresh garlic
  • fresh or dried dill
  • freshly ground pepper to taste (I like the blend of pink, white and black peppercorns)
  1. Chop garlic into smallish pieces
  2. Toss all ingredients into your blender and blend until it creates a sauce with a creamy sort of mayonnaise-like consistancy
  3. Set aside.

Salad:

  1. Chop 4 cups of your favourite veggies into small pieces. Place in a bowl with 1-2 cups chickpeas .
  2. Mix dressing into the bowl with the veggies and set aside
  3. Cook 4 cups of your favourite pasta , drain and cool completely under cold water.
  4. Mix the cooked and drained cool pasta into the bowl with your veggies, chickpeas and dressing
  5. Serve and enjoy.

Note: If you are not serving this salad immediately after making it, give it a good stir prior to serving to “re-activate” the creamy texture.

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

