My Current (holistic) Fitness Goals

Standard

An infinity of forests lies dormant within the dreams of one Acorn

– Dr.Wayne W. Dyer

Yoga Class at a Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs

Yoga Class at a Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

So, as those of you who have been following this blog already know, I’m a type two diabetic and one of my major goals is to reverse my diabetes through a plant-based diet and being active. I’ve lost 35lbs or so over the past two years and have hit a plateau of sorts this year. Part of this has been due to the fact that I’ve been a bit lax this year and fell back into eating a lot more convenience foods for a while there, but mostly it’s been that I stopped putting a concerted effort into getting at least an hour of exercise per day (other than working) in. I’ve decided that it’s time to kick my effort back up as I really would like to be a good 40 lbs lighter by next summer (I’m into slow, steady, maintainable results rather than obsessive dieting).

 

So, my new job is a 5.2km bike ride away and another 5.2km bike ride home again which is a pretty good chunk of daily cardio but, to kick things up a notch I’m going to commit to doing a few additional things:

  1. I’ll taking a yoga class twice a week, starting next month (I won’t have the spare cash until then).
  2. I will be doing daily an at home TRX workout for 30 minutes. (mostly planks, and squats for now).
  3. I will walk my dog for an hour every morning, come rain, shine, or snow.
  4. I am (and will continue to) work through the book “Quantum Wellness” by Kathy Freston (this is really helping me to balance and focus my lifestyle).
  5. I will meditate for 30 minutes each evening (as I have been recently).
  6. I will post updates about these goals once per week and let you know my progress.

 

I’m posting a link to a beginner’s TRX workout Youtube video so that those of you who aren’t familiar with TRX can check it out. It’s a great alternative to going to the gym as it’s affordable and portable. I paid 175$ for my system and although I haven’t used it as much as I intended to, I’m really glad that I invested in it, as it will be getting put to good use starting today.

 

 

Hopefully, this new routine will bring some really positive results with it. I’m not super obsessed with being thin, but I do really wish to be stronger, healthier and more flexible. My intention is to be healthier at 45 than I was at 25 and although I’ve had a few set backs, I didn’t backslide much at all progress wise and I certainly have a solid start on actually meeting that goal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

