Cold Black Bean and Millet Salad

Standard

milletbeansalad

I don’t know what any of your grocery budgets look like, but right now mine is pretty darn seriously small. I have roughly 20 dollars a week to spend on fresh produce, so I’m pretty careful about what I buy, use and waste. This of course means that I’m also very carefully managing my pantry staples as well, so I try to make grains and beans ahead and incorporate them into multiple meals. Today I had leftover millet from yesterday and I’m not feeling much like cooking, so I made a really simple cold grain salad, loosely based off of this recipe. By “loosely based off” I mean I used the basic concept, and totally stole the dressing recipe.

My version has millet,corn, black beans, some salsa verde and kalamata olives I’m trying to use up, pepitas, cucumber, a ton of fresh parsley, and some frozen corn. I copied the dressing recipe exactly, but I suspect that the addition of the salsa verde will change the flavour profile pretty significantly. Accompanying this is a healthy dollop of The Veganomicon’s white bean aioli, which I am completely and utterly noming with every meal this week (holy garlic fix batdog).

 

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

