A Return to Balance and a Big Bowl of Brown Rice.

Image

Well, the time has come for me to get back into cooking the way I normally do for myself when I’m on track and balanced. I mainly focus my meals around whole grains (primarily brown, long grain rice), with a strong emphasis on vegetables, and a small amount of simple protein (beans, tofu, seeds, nuts, seitan) and some fermented/pickled foods to act as condiments. Basically, my usual diet is pretty heavily influenced by Asian style cooking (from all parts of Asia) and has a pretty firm leaning toward macrobiotic style eating. I find that when I follow many of the basic macrobiotic principals I  have very few cravings for sweets or fats, and that my blood sugar stays pretty much in the perfect range (I have type two diabetes).

My meals had to change a fair bit while my ex and I were living together as he didn’t feel comfortable cooking here, and he certainly didn’t have much of a palette for whole foods or many of my staple ingredients and flavor profiles. He was pretty open to trying new things, but I found the whole process of feeding him to be pretty stressful and it kind of crushed my interest in doing much in the way of savory dishes.

Anyway, tonight marks my first day of officially being back on track with my menus, and I thought I’d share some pictures and information with you as I’m preparing my evening meal.

Tonight I’m serving a simple vegetable stir fry with extra firm organic tofu in a spicy peanut sauce, served on a bed of steamed millet. I’ve doubled my tofu portion as my mother has asked to join me (she hates cooking, but she enjoys eating) and I’m hoping to have a few leftovers for my lunch tomorrow.

Toasting My Millet.

Toasting My Millet.

 

My High Tech Tofu Press (plate, cloth napkin, tofu, cutting board, cans of beans, and a rock).

My High Tech Tofu Press (plate, cloth napkin, tofu, cutting board, cans of beans, and a rock).

Pressed Tofu Marinating in Spicy Peanut Sauce.

Pressed Tofu Marinating in Spicy Peanut Sauce.

 

Everything Waiting to Come Together. (I do pre-steam my broccoli slightly as I find it is better to stir fry it a shorter time to avoid mushiness).

Everything Waiting to Come Together. (I do pre-steam my broccoli slightly as I find it is better to stir fry it a shorter time to avoid mushiness).

 

The real trick to making a decent stir-fry is to add your ingredients starting with the longest cooking ones, and working your way down to the shortest cooking ones. You can manipulate this a fair bit by adjusting the size to which you cut things (thinner slicing equals shorter length of cooking time needed).

I serve my stir-fry on a pile of rice/millet/soba/quinoa/whatever, and top with some gomasio (ground, toasted sesame and sea salt). It’s a pretty simple way to cook and eat, but it can be profoundly satisfying and affordable, both of which are big selling points for me.

fini

Leave a Reply

