Cookies and Beads (these are a few of my favourite things)

Standard
milletpbcookie

Crispy Cookies.

So, the Black rice pudding was a terrible disaster. The flavour was nice, but the texture and I do not like one another. I did however make some really kick ass cookies that day, and I’ve decided to share the recipe here as it’s a really good one.

I decided to try these because I had a bag of quinoa flour kicking around and I really want to use it up while it’s still fresh. Truthfully, I HATE quinoa (I’m trying to learn to like it due to it’s nutritional profile, but it generally just tastes weird to me). These cookies, taste nothing like quinoa, and I veganized them for you (and me, and the animals).

I found the recipe here: quinoa.com


Double Crunch Peanut Butter-Quinoa Cookies

Sift together:
1 1/4 cups Norquin Brand Quinoa Flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Cream Together:
1 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/2 cup shortening(substitute vegan shortening or margarine)
1 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp toasted Norquin Brand Quinoa grain

Blend In:
1 egg(substitute 1 flax or chia egg for this)

Stir in dry ingredients. Shape into small balls and place on a greased baking sheet about 3 inches apart. Press ½ inch thick with floured fork. Bake in preheated 350 oven for 12 to 15 minutes or until nicely browned. Makes 3-4 dozen cookies.

Originally Submitted by: Ms. Dianne Hilton

Other than cookie baking:

I’ve been doing some beadwork and studying to get my learner’s license. I do have plans with a friend to go hiking in the coulees down by the river bottom later this week, and of course we’re putting in our garden over the weekend. We picked up our seedlings and bedding out plants a few days ago. My strawberries made it through the winter and are showing off the first of their leaves. I’m excited to see if they fruit this year, as I got them too late in the season for a harvest last year.

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

