My Favourite VEGAN Pancake Recipe and, My Best Friend.

Standard
Why yes, I AM THE Banana King!

Why yes, I AM THE Banana King!

So, one of the very first things I learned how to make vegan was these simple, yummy whole wheat (I’ve made these with lots of different types of flour with decent success) banana pancakes. I was absolutely blown away by how light, fluffy and simple these were to make, and how much better they are than any of the omni whole wheat pancakes I’d tried in the past. These are so tasty, that I usually have to make extra, or my mom will eat my share too.

Fluffy Vegan Banana (optional) Pancakes.

(People will NOT guess that these are vegan).

  • 1 cup flour (I use whole wheat most of the time, but sometimes buckwheat ).
  • 2 tsp baking powder.
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (normal salt will do, but I don’t use it often).
  •  1/2 tsp cinnamon.
  • 1 tbsp sweetener of choice (original recipe called for 3 tbsp, but that was overkill for me).
  • 1 tsp vanilla.
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (I make my own brown rice milk, or almond milk usually, but in a pinch I use my mom’s soy).
  • 1/2 large ripe banana or one whole small mashed banana (you can substitute *flax or chia gel here if you hate bananas).
  1. Combine all dry ingredients well in a medium sized bowl.
  2. Pour all wet ingredients (including banana) in your blender and blend for 15-25 seconds.
  3. Pour all wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and combine just enough to moisten.
  4. Cook in a frying pan, as you would cook any pancakes (I use an unoiled Teflon one)
  5. Serve and enjoy

(Makes 4-6 standard pancakes)

To make a chia “egg” just soak 1 tbsp of chia seed in 3 tbsp of water, to make a flax “egg” just soak 1 tbsp ground flax in 3 tbsp of water.

I often poke berries or apples, or even vegan chocolate chips into each pancake while cooking them (prior to turning over) and also often serve them with steam sautéed fruit in place of syrup, but basically, these are really good served any way you like them, don’t be afraid to get creative and experiment with personalizing this recipe.

The little monster at the top of the page is my 13 year old dachshund, Bjorn who is basically the coolest person I know.

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

5 responses »

    • Chia is a great egg replacer in some stuff because it doesn’t have much flavour of it’s own and it really gels nicely. I use it for making chia pudding a lot, so I pretty much always have some kicking around. I sometimes use juice or pureed fruit to make the actual gel, which of course adds a bit of flavour too.

  1. Pingback: Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes With Sautéed Fruit | Whole Foods, Whole Person

  2. Great recipe! Very easy to do!!! I made some delicious banana pancakes for today’s breakfast. I use the flax egg replacement and it works fantastic. For my next Banana Pancake Weekend I want to use the raw banana puree in the mix(not blended). It will add some nice texture when you bite the pancake.

    Greetings from Costa Rica!!!

    • I agree! Sometimes I don’t blend the banana, but it does seem to cook a bit more uniformly when I do. I LOVE adding thinly sliced banana to the pancakes when I cook them sometimes as well.

      Greetings back, from Canada! I’m so glad you enjoyed these – they’re totally my favourite weekend brunch.

Leave a Reply

