Oil and Vinegar Potato Salad Recipe at Epicurious.com

Standard

English: Golden Flesh Yukon Gold Potato

 

Oil and Vinegar Potato Salad Recipe at Epicurious.com. <-(to see the original article please click this link)

I’m going to make this potato salad tonight (and pair it with my constant companion, the chickpea cutlet), but instead of red wine vinegar I’m going to use rice wine vinegar (I’m in the mood for sometime lighter tasting). It should be pretty tasty. I’ll likely tweak the heck out of the seasoning as usual, and cut waaaay back on the oil – 1/4 cup of olive oil might taste really good, but it’s way more than is healthy for a type two diabetic like myself.

My current budget allows me to center my meals around rice, beans, tofu, and inexpensive vegetables and fruits (potatoes, apples, carrots, beats, onions, celery, gai lan, bok choy, turnip, cabbage etc etc). For the next little while the recipes I post AND try will mostly be “peasant” style cooking, which is quite honestly my favourite style of cooking most of the time. It’s not as much fun to read about, or share, but it makes me happy to know that I’m eating the way that people in less industrialized countries do. My love of cooking and baking comes from studying hippie-made cookbooks so, rustic is pretty much my default style.

I was sad to be thinking about putting this blog on hold, until I realized that I can’t possibly be the only person out there who is trying to get by on a plant-based diet on a college student sized budget (speaking of which – I start college in September).

Yield:

Makes 4 to 6 servings


For more of a bite, add two
to three teaspoons of whole grain mustard
along with the olive oil.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes (about 5 medium), unpeeled <- I only peel potatoes or carrots if I’m doing something “fancy”
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 small red onion, very thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley

Preparation:

Cook potatoes in large pot of boiling salted water until tender, about 30 minutes. Drain. Cool to just warm, 10 to 15 minutes; peel potatoes. Cut each potato in half, then cut into 1/3-inch slices.

Place warm potatoes in large bowl. Stir red wine vinegar and sugar in small bowl until sugar dissolves, then drizzle over potatoes. Toss to coat. Mix in onion slices. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cool to room temperature.

Add olive oil and parsley to potatoes. Toss well and let marinate at least 20 minutes and up to 2 hours at room temperature.

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

