BBQ Chickpea Tenders (borrowed from partylikeavegan.com)

Standard

These BBQ Chickpea Tenders   <- (click the link for the original article and recipe)are what I’m making to accompany the oil and vinegar potato salad I posted earlier. I’ll serve this with some chunky cut fresh veggies and an assortment of condiment options, as I’m cooking for both my mother and myself this evening. It’s so cool that my mom has become so interested in plant-based eating! When I first adopted a vegan lifestyle she seemed to really resent it.

 

Chickpeas
Chickpeas (Photo credit: Shlomi Fish)

 

 

 

I’ve made these (both with the BBQ sauce and also with thick teriyaki or no sauce at all instead) and have really gotten good results. I often make the Chickpea cutlets from the Veganomicon (because I FUCKING LOVE THEM), but on the days when those are just not QUITE what I’m craving these are a great option.

 

I’m amazed by how many cool recipes are out there to replace animal products in ones diet. Most of the people who dislike these sort of “fake meats” hate them because they expect them to be like the actual meat item, when in reality if you approach them as new foods you’re trying out instead of substitutions, you’re pretty likely to adore them. Since I’ve started explaining this to my mom before feeding her these veggie items, she’s really grown to love a ton of vegan foods, and her freezer is always stocked with Gardien and Yves items for nights when she’s too busy to cook something complicated.

 

 

 

 

BBQ Chickpea Tenders
Makes 12-16 tenders

  • 1 15 oz can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tbls olive oil, plus extra to oil pan
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • ½ tsp chili powder
  • ½ tsp dried parsley
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp ground pepper
  • 3 tbls flour
  • ¼ cup vegetable broth
  • ½ cup vital wheat gluten
  • ½ cup BBQ sauce (thin out with a splash of broth if needed)

Preheat oven 375˚F. Lightly oil a cookie sheet.

 

(Whole Foods, Whole Person added side note: I do not use a oiled sheet, I use cooking parchment instead, because I cut the oil/fat out where I can due to my diabetes)

 

 

In a food processor combine chickpeas, oil, garlic, spices, and
flour. Blend until smooth, stopping to scrape down the sides a few
times. Empty into a large bowl. Add broth and vital wheat gluten, mix
lightly until strings form. Now it’s time to get kneading. Knead like
you would bread for roughly 4-5 minutes. The dough will no longer stick
to your clean hands, and will look neat.

Break off pieces about the size of a ping-pong ball. Roll it a few
times around and then roll into a log, about 5 inches long. Press into
the log to flatten and shape the tender. You want it about ½-3/4 inch
thick. Place on oiled cookie sheet.

 

Bake for 7 minutes, flip, and bake another 5-7 minutes. Remove from
oven and turn up to  broil. Using a basting brush, coat each cutlet
with BBQ sauce. Pop back into the oven and broil 2 minutes. Remove,
and flip once more. This time brush sauce onto the other side of the
tenders. Broil 2 more minutes. Serve with extra sauce on the side if
you love BBQ like I do.

 

 

These are really tasty and satisfying (both with and without sauce – I love mine just dipped in maple or dill mustard, or whatever else I am in the mood for that day) and even my non-vegan friends and family have really enjoyed them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

Leave a Reply

