Oh My Muffins!

Standard

It’s so easy to take pretty much any muffin recipe and make it vegan. I’ve been using this basic whole wheat muffin recipe for years (I jazz it up with things like dried, frozen or fresh fruit, cinnamon, shredded coconut, dark vegan chocolate chips, etc depending on my mood).

Blueberry Raspberry Crumble Muffins

This is my “tweaked” version of the veganised recipe.

Original Recipe:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 egg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Mix together all dry ingredients

Mix together all wet ingredients

Barely stir dry and wet together with any yummy additions you choose to make (mixing just enough to moisten is what keeps muffins moist and tender) and spoon into greased and lined muffin tins. bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until your muffins look and smell just right, and a toothpick inserted into the center of one comes out clean.

Since switching to a whole foods and plant based lifestyle I’ve made some changes to make it more aligned with my values and needs.

Today the recipe looks more like this usually:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup sweetener of my choice
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (I don’t use normal table salt at all)
  • 3/4 cup plant based milk (soy, almond, hemp, oat, brown rice or whatever happens to be in my fridge this week)
  • 1/3 cup oil OR apple sauce (I make my own by blending an apple with a bit of water and cinnamon)
  • 1 small mashed banana or chia or flax

Follow the exact same mixing and baking instructions as seen in the previous recipe.

So, as you can see it’s super simple to learn a few basic substitutions for things like egg or milk and also to bump up the nutritional value by omitting some or all of the while flour.

I seldom use white flour for anything these days, but for those times when I’m feeding someone with a less “earthy” pallet it’s nice to be able to use a little to lighten up the flavor profile for them. I’ve had great success in moving both my mother and my boyfriend toward eating more whole foods, simply through gradually integrating more into our daily treats and meals.

Today I used the above recipe with raspberries and wild blueberries, and topped them with some leftover oatmeal crumble (ground oats, vegan margarine, cinnamon, brown sugar) which I had leftover from a batch of date squares. I sprinkled the crumble on top of the unbaked muffins, patted it gently, and then popped them in the oven until they smelled wonderful and were all golden brown and fruity.

About couleewind

I'm a 41 year old woman from a small city in Alberta Canada. I am whimsical and bitter-sweet and am essentially a marshmallow in a porcupine suit. I collect Pez dispensers and books and I love to talk, although I do tend to be fairly introspective. The sort of content which you will find here will vary depending on the day, my mood and what’s going on in my world or of interest to me. I mainly blog as method of reflecting on my day and on my life at the time of the post. I have a history of struggling with social anxiety and depression, as well as type two diabetes, and through living a plant-based, wholistically centered life I've made great strides in these areas. This blog is meant to reflect where I'm at in my life, and how I'm moving toward creating the life I see myself having in my dreams. I will often discuss, whole foods, meditation, personal growth and my day to day struggles and victories. I am also a highschool drop out who is returning to school at age 42, and a person who lives on a very tight fixed income currently, this will also be reflected in my blog.

2 responses »

  1. Oh I have been craving muffins! These look scrumptious. Too bad blueberry season in Alaska isn’t until August! I will definitely have to try these 🙂 I wanted to thank you for following my blog! I hope you find many recipes to keep you happy and healthy. Cheers!

    • My pleasure! I mostly use frozen berries for things like muffins as I keep them on hand for smoothies and the like. I buy fresh fruit seasonally when I can though.

Leave a Reply

